[Note: This article is taken from the editorial of the author’s school Economics journal published in the year 2015]

It is raining as I am writing this editorial. The song Secrets is penetrating and bathing the noise of rainfall. A cup of black coffee, a rather bitter concoction with unmixed sugar cubes, is resting on the table in front of me. As perfect as it might sound, a constant thought is troubling me. It is rather strange that I haven’t mentioned it any of my articles before. Technically I never yielded the power to write whatever I wanted to. Today that I do, I am in a dilemma to pen down one from the thousands that are surfacing in my head.

For today, I shall put my gloves of a 12th grader core economist aside. My colleagues have done a wonderful job in underscoring that and taken care of that issue in the pages to follow. What I feel is more important to discuss here is the fundamental reason which dictates our lives, presence of choice. Economics, a functioning subject of the 21st century, coincidentally and rather interestingly revolves around this very word. Scarcity of resources demands a consumer to choose between goods and services. Choice is translated into an action with innumerable consequences. Consequences that seem abstract and rather impossible to connect at the present moment.

This publication has been a journey embarked by choices. Two years ago I inked the first article for this publication. The very first day I had to choose between spending time pursuing my sudden interest in writing and playing a basketball match. Time management could have helped me cruise through both but I was a victim of that unfortunate group which is not very proficient at managing time. In that moment I took a decision

that would mould the layers that shape me today; a result so complex that I possibly could not have calculated at that time. That very second became the advent of a battle of choices I was going to fight for time which hasn’t since elapsed.

Reflecting back on that very day kindles an epiphanic thought. One is often stuck or rather not stuck at all while making a choice. Our brains are designed to choose something which yields instant glory. A 3-pointer shot in basketball would have become an event of immediate please and reason for extol , while my first article never saw the face of a printing press.

We are incarcerated by our very limited sense of scope of outcomes. Our immediate social circle fails to comprehend the importance of certain activities in our lives, constantly diverting us to conform to societal glory: in my case the basketball match. If I would have played that basketball match and not written the article, I might have accomplished something which was more apt for an ideology that dwells in confinement of these four walls. I am not, at any point, undermining the capabilities of my friends who chose to play the sport they loved. Every choice has an opportunity cost. The argument is judging the extent of leverage in order to make that transaction. In our fast flowing lives, we only possess limited time to make decisions. A majority of us fail to extract ourselves from the present and think beyond it. That ostensibly attractive option of the two vaporises before you take your next step.

This issue tries to deal with conflicts and concepts that are shaping the dynamic 21st century. Speculation, aggression, evaluation and coercion are synonymous with the world we live in. Crunching numbers and foreseeing trends are skills of survival for those who want to double their money. For those who aren’t, Will Rogers rightly puts, ‘The fastest way to double your money is to fold it in half and put it in your back pocket.’

As a 17 year old, societal norms allow those with a higher number attached to their age to be critical of my ideas. I might ,for some of you, pass for an unexperienced kid who hasn’t seen much life to make a comment on it. Coercion restricts the very point of writing this. So no matter wherever you are standing you do have a choice: to rethink.

